Scholars receive Sloan Fellowships

Feb. 16, 2011, 2:01 a.m.

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation chose six Stanford scientists and scholars for its Research Fellowships. Manuel Amador, Sean Hartnoll, Seema Jayachandran, Fei-Fei Li, Michael Ostrovsky and Nancy Ruonan Zhang are among the 118 Sloan awardees. They each obtained $50,000 in unrestricted research grants, which will be used over the next two years.

Among the recipients are three Stanford economists. Amador is an assistant professor of economics and specializes in macroeconomics and international economics. Jayachandran, assistant professor of economics, focuses development economics. Ostrovsky, B.A.S. ’99 is an associate professor of economics at the Graduate School of Business.

Fei-Fei Li, assistant professor of computer science, runs the Stanford Vision Lab. Zhang, B.S. ’01, M.S. ’01, Ph.D ’05 is assistant professor of statistics who studies genomic variation using high-density SNP chips and sequencing experiments. Hartnoll, assistant professor of physics, researches general relativity, string theory, field theory and condensed matter theory.

The Sloan Research Fellowships were created in 1955 to support the research efforts of promising academics. According to the Sloan Foundation website, Fellows are “at an early stage of their research careers” and boast “independent research accomplishments.”

— An Le Nguyen

Login or create an account

Apply to The Daily’s High School Summer Program

deadline EXTENDED TO april 28!