Stanford University Board of Trustees elects four new members

Feb. 28, 2013, 11:24 p.m.

The Stanford University Board of Trustees has elected four new members to five-year terms, effective March 1. Fred Alvarez ’72 J.D. ’75, Gail B. Harris ’74 J.D. ’77, Bernard Liautaud M.S. ’85 and Lloyd M. Metz ’90 will take their seats at the upcoming board meeting this April.

Elected through the alumni nominations process, Alvarez, Harris, Liautaud and Metz were chosen for their diversity of professional experience and dedication to the Stanford community.

“The board is very fortunate to add this quartet of new members,” said Steven A. Denning MBA ’78, chair of the Board of Trustees, in The Stanford Report. “I am delighted by the breadth, diversity and manifold accomplishments of the group. They will add immeasurably to the board’s deliberations. My thanks to the alumni association for the diligent, discerning work that led to the selection of the four new trustees.”

Alvarez, a partner at Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati, previously worked as assistant secretary of labor for the U.S. Department of Labor from 1987 to 1989 and as commissioner of the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission from 1984 to 1987.

Harris is the director of Evercore Partners Inc., an investment banking advisory firm, and is the former chair of the Law Fund at Stanford Law School. Previously, Harris served as a partner at Simpson Thacher & Bartlett in New York City.

Liautaud is general partner at Balderton Capital, a venture capital firm in London, and in 1990 co-founded Business Objects, a global leader in business intelligence solutions. In 2002, Liautaud was included in Time Magazine Europe’s “Digital Top 25,” and he received the Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur in 2007, one of France’s highest civilian honors.

Metz is a managing director of ICV Partners, an entrepreneurial, leveraged buyout firm based in New York City. Mertz currently serves on the Stanford Associates Board of Governors and received the Stanford Associates Award of Merit in 2006.

Login or create an account