68 candidates declare for ASSU elections

March 8, 2013, 5:20 p.m.

Sixty-eight students declared their intent to run for various ASSU positions before the window for declaring candidacies and gathering petition signatures closed today at 5 p.m.

While the deadline had previously been set for March 1, the ASSU Undergraduate Senate and Graduate Student Council (GSC) voted to extend it in late February amid concerns about the low number of declared candidates.

Two of the three Executive slates that submitted candidate statements gathered the required 200 signatures to be placed on the spring ballot. Dan Ashton ‘14 and Billy Gallagher ‘14 collected 402 signatures, while Najla Gomez ‘14 and Elizabeth Patiño ‘14, who declared in the last week before the deadline, collected 216.

Gallagher is a Daily staffer, and Ashton is a member of The Daily’s Board of Directors.

The Chaparral’s joke slate, Anthony So ’14 and Ryan de Taboada ’14, collected 82 signatures.

Six Executive slates collected the necessary amount of signatures to be placed on the ballot in 2012, though three dropped out before the election.

This year, 37 candidates declared to run for the Undergraduate Senate, and 29 received the required 100 signatures to be placed on the ballot.

Two slates declared to run for Senior Class Presidents, with both gathering more than twice the 100 signatures required. All three slates for Junior Class Presidents and the two slates for Sophomore Class Presidents also gathered over 100 signatures.

Twenty-one students declared to run for the Graduate Student Council. Only one candidate declared to run from each of the Graduate School of Business (GSB), natural sciences, earth sciences, social sciences and School of Medicine districts.

Two candidates declared to run from the School of Education and School of Law districts, three declared from the humanities district and nine declared from the engineering district.

The petition with the highest total number of signatures was the Junior Class President slate “take15,” composed of Rachael Flatt ’15, Jordan Shapiro ’15, Daniel Knapp ’15, Megan Kurohara ’15, Allison Mateo ’15 and Natalya Thakur ’15. At the time of the petitions deadline, they had collected 414 signatures.

This year’s elections will be held on April 11 and 12.

Login or create an account