Fulbright Program awards fellowships to 11 Stanford students and alumni

Aug. 3, 2014, 6:04 p.m.

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program awarded fellowships to 11 Stanford students and alumni for the 2014-15 academic year.

The program, one of several Fulbright programs, provides grants to students who want to study, teach English or conduct research in another country for one academic year. Every year, it selects approximately 1,900 students, artists and young professionals based on their academic merit and leadership potential.

The 11 Stanford grantees include Jaimie Adelson ’14, Yassamin Ansari ’14, Elena Ayala-Hurtado ’14, Jason Cieply, Jessie Holtzman ’14, Katherine Lee ’14, Allison Mickel, Maia Mosse ’14, Ben Strauber, Lauren Yapp and Victoria Yee ’13.

The seven alumni and four doctoral students in total will be working in nine countries, including Turkey, Taiwan and Spain. Their plans for the upcoming year range from investigating urban heritage protection to contributing to the publication of children’s short stories in English.

Login or create an account

Apply to The Daily’s High School Winter Program

Deadline Extended!